Illinois Walleye Trail completes 2010 season

April 16, 2010 at 12:12 PM

The Illinois Walleye Trail completed the 2010 season with a tournament on Saturday 4-10-2010 and the State Championship on Sunday 4-11-2010 at Spring Valley, Illinois.  The teams found the weather ideal both days.  The surface water temperatures were anywhere 58 to 60 degrees.  The water clarity on Saturday was 6 to 8 ” and improved on Sunday to 10 to 12”.  Most of the teams caught their fish upstream of Spring Valley with either jigs and minnows or crankbaits.  On Saturday, placing first was the team of Jason Thies and Dave Puetz from Tonica.  Their limit of fish weighed 9.56 lbs. worth $1425.00.  Second place went to Tom Giachetto and Tom Giachetto Jr fro Ladd.  Their limit weighed 8.94lbs cashing $1000.00 plus $260 for big fish weighing 2.6 lbs.  Third place honors went to Dave Kleszyk from Old Brockton, Il and Dave Zurawski from Darien.  Their 6 fish limit weighed 7.61 lbs earning them $625.00.  The Lund Hennepin $500 Loyalty Bonus award as the first Lund owner in the money went to Jason Thies and Dave Puetz.  Compliments of Hennepin Marine the $100 gift certificate went to the first Lund owner out of the money, Max Actis and Mike Stuckert.  Compliments of Woodstock Line, shirts, hats, and lead core line was given to other participants.

On Sunday 4-11-2010, The Illinois Walleye Trail held its State Championship for the 2010 season.  Placing first, from Spring Valley were Max Actis and Mike Stuckert with a limit weighing 11.23 lbs.  They also weighed in the big fish at 3.36 lbs.  These honors earned them $1660.00.  They were also the first Lund boat owner in the money earning them an additional $500 from the Lund Hennepin Loyalty Bonus.  Second Place honors went to Bob Apple, Chadwick IL and Brad Linton, Rock Falls, with 9.42 lbs earning $975.00.  Third place went to Jason Thies and Dave Puetz with 8.79 lbs earning them $575.  The Hennepin Marine $100 gift certificate went to Tom Giachetto and Tom Giachetto Jr. 

The Illinois Walleye Trail takes a certain percentage of each entry fee and creates an Angler of The Year Fund.  The Anglers earn point based on place of finish for each tournament.  At the end of the year the team with the highest points win 80% of the fund.  Second highest points get 20% of the fund.  This years winners were Steve and Adam Sandor from Ottawa winning $700.00.  Tom Giachetto & Tom Giachetto Jr received the remaining 20% for second highest points $175.00. 

Complete results can be found at  The 2011 season will begin in October 2010.  As a reminder the Angler Young Angler tournament is scheduled June 13, 2010 at Hennepin.  There are still a few spots left but applications are arriving daily.  Don’t get left out send in now, as the field is limited to the first 50 boats.