Illinois hunting and fishing

Vienna youngster wins junior duck stamp

April 13, 2010 at 08:59 PM

SPRINGFIELD, IL – Abraham Hunter, a home-schooled student from Vienna, Illinois, won “Best of Show” honors during the Illinois segment of the Federal Junior Duck Stamp Design Contest, Illinois Department of Natural Resources (IDNR) Director Marc Miller announced today.

Hunter’s acrylic painting entitled, “Bluewing Takeoff,” depicts a pair of blue-winged teal ducks shedding water drops from their wings as they arise. The winning artwork has been entered in the national competition to be held April 23 at the Science Museum of Minnesota in St. Paul, Minnesota. Hunter has won the Illinois “Best of Show” honors in Illinois for three consecutive years. His previous “Best of Show” efforts in Illinois have earned Honorable Mention and Second Place in the national competitions.

Illinois’ “Best of Show” and all first-, second- and third-place winning entries can be viewed at . Winners in the Honorable Mention category are listed by name.

The Federal Junior Duck Stamp Design Contest’s goal is to teach environmental science through the arts. The Junior Duck Stamp program is patterned on the adult Federal Duck Stamp Contest. The winning national entry will grace the 2010-2011 Federal Junior Duck Stamp and will be featured on limited edition prints and other licensed products. The national first-place artist will receive $5,000.

Hunter’s “Best of Show” design was chosen from a group of 12 first-place winners in four categories: Group IV – grades 10-12; Group III – grades 7-9; Group II – grades 4-6; and Group I – grades K-3. Three first-, second- and third- place winners were selected in each age group, along with 16 honorable mention designations. There were 480 entries. Entrants are from public, private and home schools as well as private art studios.

Hunter’s work was judged a first-place winner in Group IV. The two other winners in this division were Cassie Criminger (Bureau Valley High School, Manlius) and Melissa Gloria (Bureau Valley High School, Manlius).

Group III winners include Maggie Stolfa (Epiphany Catholic School, Normal), Krista Naaktgeboren (Bureau Valley High School, Manlius) and Alexandra Grubb (home-schooled, Pleasant Plains).

Nandu Dubey (Grayslake), Katie Milani (Hinsdale Center for the Arts, Hinsdale) and Victoria Tu (Wood Oaks Junior High School, Northbrook) were the first-place winners for Group II.

Camryn Parker (home-schooled, McLeansboro), Nick Williams (Walker Art Studio, Havana) and Damon Bailey (Deer Park Elementary School, Ottawa) were awarded first place in Group I.

For his effort, Hunter will receive a variety of gifts and recognitions from the IDNR and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. All students who place first, second, third or honorable mention receive a ribbon. All participants receive a certificate.

This annual contest is part of the Federal Junior Duck Stamp Design Contest, administered in Illinois by the Department of the Interior’s U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and the IDNR. For more information, contact the IDNR Division of Education at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) or 217/524-4126.

Click here for a list of first- through third-place winners is below.