Bass fishing hall inducts 5 members

February 12, 2010 at 10:39 AM

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (AP) - Five new members will be inducted into the Bass Fishing Hall of Fame.

The group includes early BASS competitor John Powell, 2000 Bassmaster Classic winner Woo Daves and FLW Outdoors chairman Irwin Jacobs. Journalists Tim
Tucker and Steve Price will also enter the Hall.

The class will be inducted Tuesday night in Birmingham ahead of the Bassmaster Classic, with five-time Bassmaster Angler of the Year Kevin VanDam serving as keynote speaker.

Powell and Tucker will be inducted posthumously

Powell became the first to win consecutive tournaments in 1971. Jacobs is chairman of FLW Outdoors and founder of FLW Fantasy Fishing.

Daves competed in 17 Bassmaster Classics and won the 2000 event in Chicago.